Electronic Control System Description
The electronic control system consists of 1) various sensors which detect the state of engine and driving conditions, 2) ECM which controls various devices according to the signals from the sensors and 3) various controlled devices.
Functionally, it is divided into the following sub systems:
Fuel injection control system
Ignition control system
Idle speed control system
Fuel pump control system
Evaporative emission control system
EGR system
Oxygen sensor heater control system (if equipped)
A/C control system (if equipped)
A/C condenser fan control system (if equipped)
Camshaft position control (VVT) system
Controller (computer) communication system
Also, with A/T model, ECM sends throttle valve opening signal, ECT signal, engine torque signal and A/C compressor signal to transmission control module to control A/T. Especially, A/T model with camshaft position control (VVT) system, ECM and TCM intercommunicate by CAN (Controller Area Network) communication system.